Calum Ritchie wins gold at 2022 Hlinka Gretzky Cup


Twenty-two CHL players have won gold at the 2022 Hlinka Gretzky Cup after Canada beat Sweden 4-1 in Saturday’s final in Red Deer.

Tanner Howe (REG), Ethan Gauthier (SHE), Calum Ritchie (OSH) and Brayden Yager (MJ) all scored for the hosts while Scott Ratzlaff (SEA) stopped 25 shots.

“It feels amazing,” Ratzlaff. “I’m just so excited to win this tournament.”

Gauthier’s six goals led the tournament while Ritchie’s 10 points were the most in the competition. Every Canadian skater registered at least one point besides Oliver Bonk (LDN).

Ratzlaff went a perfect 4-0-0 with a .976 save percentage and a 0.50 GAA. The Thunderbirds goaltender recorded two shutouts and stopped 83 of the 85 shots he faced in the tournament.

Canada outscored opponents 34-3 en route to gold. They cruised through the round-robin after wins over Switzerland (14-0), Slovakia (9-1) and Sweden (3-0) before they beat Finland 4-1 in the semi-final. The team’s penalty kill was perfect all tournament long as they killed off all 24 shorthanded opportunities, and scored three shorthanded goals in the process, while the power play went 8-for-17.

Ritchie wins gold, finishing with the tournament lead in points with 10, four goals and six assists, earning at least one point in every game he played.

It is the 23rd time Canada has claimed gold at the Hlinka Gretzky Cup and the first since 2018.

22 CHL players win gold at the 2022 Hlinka Gretzky Cup:


Carson Bjarnason (Brandon/WHL)
Scott Ratzlaff (Seattle/WHL)
Jackson Unger (Moose Jaw/WHL)


Cameron Allen (Guelph/OHL)
Oliver Bonk (London/OHL)
Dylan MacKinnon (Halifax/QMJHL)
Tanner Molendyk (Saskatoon/WHL)
Caden Price (Kelowna/WHL)
Jordan Tourigny (Shawinigan/QMJHL)
Saige Weinstein (Spokane/WHL)


Denver Barkey (London/OHL)
Colby Barlow (Owen Sound/OHL)
Zachary Benson (Winnipeg/WHL)
Mathieu Cataford (Halifax/QMJHL)
Andrew Cristall (Kelowna/WHL)
Ethan Gauthier (Sherbrooke/QMJHL)
Riley Heidt (Prince George/WHL)
Tanner Howe (Regina/WHL)
Kalen Lind (Red Deer/WHL)
Carson Rehkopf (Kitchener/OHL)
Calum Ritchie (Oshawa/OHL)
Brayden Yager (Moose Jaw/WHL)

More News
Home Opener spoiled by back-and-forth affair with 67's
6 hours ago
Sept 30./22 - OTT (7) - OSH (6) - SO
17 hours ago
Gens secure first win in first game of 2022-2023 season
2 days ago
Generals acquire Ty Petrou from Firebirds
2 days ago
Generals head to Barrie to open 2022-2023 season
2 days ago
Generals Name 2022-2023 Leadership Group
3 days ago