Facebook Twitter Instagram Game Blog YouTube


The Memorial Cup, which has been in competition since 1919, was presented in commemoration of the many great Canadian hockey players who paid the supreme sacrifice in defense of their county in the First World War. Initially the symbol of the national junior championship, the Cup later signified Junior “A” supremacy beginning in 1934 and Major Junior supremacy in 1971. Competing for it annually are the Western, Quebec Major Junior and Ontario Hockey Leagues. The winners of the three leagues, along with the host club, compete in the Memorial Cup tournament.

The Generals have hoisted the Cup as Memorial Cup Champions in 1939, 1940, 1944, and 1990.

The J. Ross Robertson Cup is emblematic of the Ontario Hockey League’s championship series. The Cup was presented by J. Ross Robertson, who was president of the Ontario Hockey Association from 1901 to 1905. Since its inception, the J. Ross Robertson Cup has been won by the Generals 12 times, including seven consecutive championships between 1938 and 1944. The Generals also hoisted the Robertson Cup in 1966, 1983, 1987, 1990 and 1997.

The Generals also won the Hamilton Spectator Trophy in 1991 and Leyden Division Trophy in 1987, 1990, 1991, and in this past 2014 season.